Review — Long Way Down, by Jason Reynolds

“A BROKEN HEART

killed my dad. That’s why my mother always said. And as a kid I always figured his heart was forreal broken like an arm or a toy or the middle drawer.”

Where do I start?

This book wasn’t what I had expected, I don’t know why I went into this thinking it would be an absolute different story than what it is. But in the end I’m glad it wasn’t what I had thought it would be. This story is about 15-year-old William whom brother just died, killed at the end of a gun. It’s about him wanting to take revenge, wanting to do what he’s been taught when he was a kid.

This book is written in verse, and it truly was the best option to tell this story, it made it even more poignant. It shook me to the core. Jason Reynolds has a way with words and double meanings, a way to make you think about what you’re reading and why something has been written.

This story was powerful. It took me some time to get into it, but once I was I didn’t let go. The characters we meet, the story they tell … it’s all about missed opportunities and people gone too early in the name of revenge. It’s about the consequences that follow your actions.

The ending had me shook. The last words had me shook. It’s probably what made me changed my mind about this book, what made me gave it 4 stars instead of less. The double meaning. The way this book is asking you to think.

4.5 / 5

That’s it for today, I’ll see you soon, have a nice day guys 🌻

Laisser un commentaire